With its geographical position just above the river Sotla, Kunšperk controlled the broader region all the way to Croatia, where it found its counterpart in the Croatian Cesagrad castle. It was built between 1167 -1174 on the grounds of the older castle, which had been destroyed by Henrik, the Bishop of Krško. The outline of the chosen place had an important influence on castle’s visual image in this region. Another crucial element is the basis of the castle. Its centre is formed by immense bergfrid. In the 12th and the 13th century the castle was occupied by the Kunšperk knights. After 1300, their power slowly ceased and the property started falling to pieces. Later owners of the castle were the counts of Celje and the Tattenbachs, who also possessed dominion of Bizeljsko from the 16th century onwards. The last owners were the Windischgraetzs who united the property of Bizeljsko and Kunšperk. It is believed that the castle was abandoned at the end of the 18th century. In 1933, the northern residential tract fell down the precipice. Visitors can still see the ruins on a steep hill above the village Kunšperk.